Requirements to qualify for a license
A license to carry a concealed firearm is not required in Alaska. Anyone 21 years of age and older who is legally allowed to possess a firearm may carry it concealed. Although, you may want to obtain a concealed carry permit if you will be traveling in states that recognize an Alaska permit.
If you decide to get an Alaska concealed handgun permit you must be 21 years of age and you must be an Alaska resident or have lived in Alaska for at least 90 days. You must also be legally able to possess a firearm. Alaska uses federal law to determine who is legally able to possess a firearm.
In addition to the above you cannot:
- Have been convicted of 2 or more class A misdemeanors of Alaska or similar laws within the last 6 years
- Have been under an order to complete an alcohol or substance abuse treatment program within the last 3 years
You must deliver your application in person to an office of the Alaska State Troopers, Alaska Wildlife Troopers, or a municipal police department that is authorized to receive applications.
Finally you must pass a handgun competency course within the 12 months prior to making your application.
Concealed Carry Classes Near You in Alaska
What will you learn in class?
Alaska requires a handgun safety class to be at least 12 hours long. This is more than most states but you will learn valuable information. A good instructor will teach you basic safety rules and how to handle a firearm. You will learn the mindset required to carry a concealed weapon. You will also learn where you can legally carry and where not to carry
The most important section of your class is probably the discussion of Alaska law. You must understand the "Use of Force" laws in Alaska or any state where you are carrying. Your life and freedom could depend on a good understanding of this section, do not take it lightly.
Finally you will have to pass a live fire qualification. This test consists of firing a minimum of 36 rounds at distances of 3 yards, 7 yards, and 15 yards.
How long does it take to get a license?
Once a completed application is submitted it can take up to 30 days to get an approval or denial. When your permit is approved it is valid for up to 5 years.
How much does the license cost?
You must submit a fee of $91.50 with your application to an office of the Alaska State Troopers, Alaska Wildlife Troopers, or a municipal police department that is authorized to receive applications.
Reciprocity with other states
If you have a concealed handgun permit from Alaska there are 37 other states that will honor your permit. Check with the Alaska Department of Public Safety for a list of states that recognize an Alaska permit.
Where can you not carry a concealed weapon?
- In someone's home without their knowledge and permission
- Schools (You can leave an unloaded weapon locked in the trunk or in a locked container inside the car)
- Child care facilities (You can leave an unloaded weapon locked in the trunk or in a locked container inside the car)
- Any place where intoxicating liquor is sold (This does not include restaurants when you are not consuming alcoholic beverages)
- Courthouses or offices of the court system or justice system
- Domestic violence or sexual assault shelters
- Federal buildings and any federal property where concealed carry is not allowed
- Business owners and private property owners may also restrict carry on their premises
Here is a short list of instructors who teach the required Alaska concealed carry course:
Owner of CCWClasses.net
Jason Huskey is a family man with three kids and a wonderful wife. He’s always starting new hobbies, but his true passion lies in shooting sports. Jason has been a CCW license holder for over 10 years and carries every day. In addition to firearms, he also enjoys playing guitar and writing songs. He tries to live by the Christian values he believes in.