Requirements to qualify for a license
You must be at least 21 years of age to apply for a Connecticut concealed carry license (which is actually just called a pistol permit). You must be a legal resident of the U.S. but you don’t have to be a resident of Connecticut. You cannot have a felony conviction or one of the following 11 misdemeanor offenses on your record:
- Illegal possession of controlled or hallucinogenic substances
- Criminally negligent homicide
- Assault in the third degree
- Assault of a victim 60 or older in the third degree
- Reckless endangerment in the first degree
- Unlawful restraint in the second degree
- Riot in the first degree
- Riot in the second degree
- Inciting to riot
- Stalking in the second degree
Here is a list of other disqualifying factors:
- Conviction as a delinquent for the commission of a serious juvenile offense
- Discharge from custody in the last 20 years after being found not guilty by reason of mental disease or defect
- Being committed to a mental institution within the preceding 12 months
- Being subject to a restraining or protective order in a case involving physical force against another person
- Being subject to a firearms seizure order
- Being an illegal alien in the United States
- Renouncing your U.S. citizenship
- Having a dishonorable discharge from the U.S. Armed Forces
Finally, you must complete a handgun safety course with a live fire requirement. Once all requirements have been met you should apply to the Police chief or First Selectman of your local town. They will have 8 weeks to issue or deny your temporary state permit. You will then apply for a state permit through the Connecticut Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection. Application instructions can be found here.
Connecticut Concealed Carry Classes
Enter your zip code here to find an instructor near you.
What will you learn in class?
Connecticut requires you to take at a minimum the NRA Basic Pistol Course. This course will teach you how to properly handle and operate a handgun. You will learn about different types of ammunition, how to load a handgun, how to clean a gun, and safe storage of weapons in the home.
Try to find an instructor that also discusses Connecticut laws relating to the "use of deadly force". I recommend that you find additional training about Connecticut laws beyond this basic pistol course.
How long does it take to get a license?
It can take up to 8 weeks to receive your temporary state permit and another 8 weeks to receive your 5 year state permit. If your permit is denied you can appeal to the Board of Firearm Permit Examiners.
How much does the license cost?
The License fee is $70. You will also incur fees for background checks and for your handgun training class. You can expect to spend a total of $250 to $350 to obtain your permit.
Reciprocity with other states
Connecticut does not recognize any other states' concealed carry permits. Non-residents with a valid permit from another state may apply for a Connecticut pistol permit. Connecticut does not have reciprocity agreements with any other state but check out this map to see which states honor a CT Pistol Permit.
Where can you not carry a concealed weapon?
- Federal government owned or leased buildings
- State legislative buildings
- Federal Prisons
- Indian Reservations
- State parks and state forests