The Utah concealed weapon permit is a popular choice because it is not limited to residents and offers reciprocity with many other states. You can even obtain a Utah non resident concealed carry permit without visiting Utah. Although I would recommend a visit for some spectacular views.
Requirements to qualify for a license
You must be 21 years old to apply for a Utah concealed firearm permit. You must also be a US citizen or a legal resident with the intent to live in the US. A firearms familiarity course is required and it must be taught by an instructor certified by the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification.
You must show proof of good character. This is basically done with a criminal background check. If you have criminal offenses in your past you can call the Utah BCI at (801) 957-8512 to determine if you are still eligible for a permit.
You must also complete a weapons familiarity course. Your instructor has to fill out a section on the application showing that you have completed this course. If you have not sent in your application after one year you will have to retake the class before applying. But hey, why would anyone wait that long anyway!
Non-residents must first obtain a CWP or CCW from their home state if that state recognizes the Utah CFP.
Utah Concealed Carry Class
Enter your zip code here to find a Utah Concealed Carry Class near you.
What will you learn in class?
A Utah concealed carry class is recommended by the state to be at least 4 hours long. There is no live fire requirement but instructors are encouraged to add any additional training that they feel will help the class carry safely. The class must also be taught in person. It cannot be taught over the internet or by other electronic means. This does not mean you have to travel to Utah. The class can be taught in a different state but the instructor must be Utah certified.
Your instructor should cover the safe handling of firearms which includes:
- Basic gun safety rules
- How to properly clean a gun
- How to safely store a gun in your home or vehicle
- How to handle and store ammunition
- Gun Range Safety
- Clearing gun malfunctions
- Shooting positions - Isosceles, Weaver, Modified Isosceles stances
It is very important to choose the proper ammunition to carry. Most instructors will tell you to carry hollow points. Hollow point ammo has a hole in the tip of the bullet which allows it to expand upon hitting a target. This causes the bullet to slow down, which can keep it from penetrating the target. You are always liable for any damage that your bullets cause to innocent bystanders or to someone's property. In contrast, full metal jacket bullets do not expand on impact and are more likely to penetrate bodies and walls.
Your instructor will show you the proper way to carry concealed. He should go over the pros and cons of different holsters and carry positions. For example, many instructors will steer you away from using an ankle holster as your primary carry position. An ankle holster makes it difficult to retrieve your firearm in a tactical situation. He will likely advise you to carry in the waistband if at all possible. This is usually the quickest and safest way to access your gun. For those of us who are required to tuck in our shirts at work an IWB holster can be uncomfortable. My preferred carry method is a Ruger LCP in a front pocket using a BlackHawk! holster.
The meat of the class will likely be spent on Utah self defense laws. This may be boring but is very important so listen up. You will learn when firing your weapon is considered self defense. You will learn what is wrong with brandishing a firearm and how this could get you in trouble. A good instructor will teach you where you can legally carry and where not to carry. Pay special attention to the laws of the state you are carrying in because it could save you from serving jail time.
How long does it take to get a license?
The Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification issues concealed firearms permits and you can expect it to take 45 to 60 days to process your permit.
How much does the permit cost?
The fee for Utah residents is $41 or $51 for non-residents. Taking a class from a Utah approved instructor will increase the cost but compared to other states it is relatively cheap to obtain a Utah concealed firearm permit.
Reciprocity with other states
A Utah CFP is currently recognized by 35 states. Although some states only recognize a Utah resident CFP. If you are a non-resident be sure you understand which states will honor your permit.
Where can you not carry a concealed weapon?
Utah is different from most states in that you are allowed to carry a concealed weapon into a school. I find this fascinating and believe it is in the best interest of the students of Utah. Utah CFP holders have never been involved in an act of gun violence in a Utah school.
You are also allowed to carry a firearm into a bar but you are not allowed to carry while intoxicated. The determination of intoxication is the same as used when driving a car (.08 BAC).
Here is a list of places you are not allowed to carry a gun:
- A secure area where a notice of prohibition is posted
- The secure areas of airports
- Correctional and mental health facilities
- Law enforcement secured areas
- Houses of worship or private residences where a notice is posted