Requirements to qualify for a license
You must be a resident of Arizona or a U.S. citizen to qualify for a concealed weapons permit. You generally must be at least 21 years old to apply. If you are 19 or older and are currently serving in the armed forces or have been honorably discharged you are also qualified to apply.
In addition to the above you cannot be:
- Under indictment or convicted of a felony
- Unlawfully present in the U.S.
- Admitted to a mental institution or have a history of mental illness
- Prohibited from possessing a firearm by state or federal law
You must demonstrate competence with a firearm by completing a class. The Arizona Dept. of Public Safety is no longer allowed to approve concealed weapons training programs, therefore any of the following classes will qualify:
- Any firearms safety training course available to the public by a law enforcement agency, college, private or public institution, academy, organization, or firearms training school that is approved by the Dept of Public Safety or that uses instructors approved by the National Rifle Association
- Any hunter education course approved by the AZ game and fish department or a similar agency of another state
- Any NRA firearms safety course
- Any law enforcement firearms safety course approved by the Dept of Public Safety
- Evidence of current military service or honorable discharge
- Current or expired concealed carry permit from another state that has a training requirement for initial issuance
- Governmental police agency firearms training course
- Any other firearms safety course taught by an instructor certified by the NRA or the Dept of Public Safety
To get an application packet you must contact the Concealed Weapons Permit Unit by email. Make sure you include your mailing address so they can mail you a packet. Once you receive your packet, complete the application and then mail back all the following documents:
- Completed application
- Certificate of training
- 2 sets of fingerprints
- A cashier’s check or money order for the appropriate fee
Arizona Concealed Carry Permit Classes
Search our database by zip code to find an instructor near you. Click here to enter your zip code to find ccw classes, cpl classes, cwp classes and chl classes in your area.
What will you learn in class?
A general firearms safety course will teach you how to properly handle a gun. You will learn how to clean a gun and maintain it. You will also learn about different types of ammunition and how to load a firearm.
IMPORTANT NOTE: Your training class may not include information about the laws of Arizona. Try to find a class that explains “use of force” laws in Arizona. Your life and freedom depend on understanding these laws before using your weapon.
How long does it take to get a license?
The Arizona Department of Public Safety has 60 business days to complete all qualification checks then another 15 days after that to issue or deny your permit. If your permit is denied you have 20 days to submit additional documentation for reconsideration. The department then has an additional 20 days to reconsider your application. If your reconsideration fails you can request a hearing.
How much does the license cost?
An initial Arizona Concealed Weapons Permit costs $60. The fee to renew your permit after 5 years is $43.
Reciprocity with other states
Arizona recognizes a concealed carry permit from any other state as long as your permit is currently valid and you are physically present in Arizona. In addition you must not be legally prohibited from possessing a firearm in Arizona. An Arizona concealed carry permit is currently recognized in 34 other states.
Note: When traveling to other states make sure you contact each state’s attorney general to determine if you are allowed to use your Arizona permit. Make sure you abide by the other state’s use of force laws when traveling.
Where can you not carry a concealed weapon?
- Businesses or private property that do not allow guns whether or not a sign is posted (A sign is not required by law and you can be asked to leave the property if you are carrying a weapon against the policy of the owner)
- Polling places on election days
- Schools (An exception is made for a parent picking up a student. Your weapon must be unloaded before entering school premises. You must also remain in the car. If you have to get out of the car you must lock your unloaded weapon in the vehicle. Another exception can be made for school approved training courses related to firearms. Individual school districts can place more restrictive guidelines on firearms on school property. Check with your school before assuming it is legal to carry on school property.)
- Commercial nuclear and hydroelectric power plants
- Indian reservations
- Military bases
- Game preserves
- Correctional Facilities
- Federal buildings