Tag Archives: featured

Missouri Concealed Carry Classes

Requirements to qualify for a Permit

To qualify for a Missouri concealed carry permit you must be at least 21 years old.  If you are a least 18 and currently in the armed forces or honorably discharged you can also obtain a permit. You must be a resident of Missouri and a citizen of the U.S.

In addition to the above you cannot have any felony convictions or current felony charges against you.  If you have a weapons related misdemeanor conviction your permit will be denied.

Those with a violent misdemeanor conviction in the last 5 years will be denied.  You can not be convicted of 2 or more misdemeanors of DWI or possession or abuse of a controlled substance in the last 5 years.

This seems obvious but you cannot obtain a CCW permit while you are a fugitive from justice.  You can also not obtain a permit if you have been dishonorably discharged from the U.S. Armed Forces.

Finally you cannot have been judged mentally incompetent in the last 5 years and you cannot be under an order of protection.

If you meet all the above qualifications the next step is to take a handgun safety class.  You will need to give a copy of your certificate of completion to your local county sheriff when applying.

Missouri Concealed Carry Classes

Search our database by zip code to find a class near you.  Enter your zip code here.

search provided by Store Locator Plus®
Enter an address or zip code and click the find locations button.

What will you learn in class?

Missouri guidelines say that qualifying training must be at least  8 hours long and must include a live fire qualification.  Most instructors will require you to bring a handgun to class and at least 50 rounds of ammo.  Some instructors will have guns available to rent.

Your Missouri concealed carry class will cover the following topics:

  • Handgun safety at home, in the classroom, on the firing range, and while carrying
  • How to clean your gun
  • Securing firearms from children
  • Where you can carry and where not to carry
  • Missouri gun laws
  • Missouri use of force and use of deadly force laws
  • Nonviolent dispute resolution

During the live fire portion of the class you will be required to fire 20 rounds from both a revolver and a semi-automatic handgun. You will be shooting at a B-27 target from 7 yards away.  You must hit the silhouette portion of the target with at least 15 out of 20 rounds.

How long does it take to get a license?

Your local sheriff has up to 45 days to issue or deny your permit whether or not all background checks are finished.  If your permit is denied you can file an appeal in small claims court.Missouri concealed carry
9mm ammo

How much does the license cost?

Your local sheriff will set the price for a permit.  Missouri counties average about $100 for a permit fee.  Some counties charge less, for example Cape Girardeau county only charges $79.  You must apply in your county of residence.

Reciprocity with other states

Missouri recognizes all out of state CCW permits.  Check this reciprocity map to see if a state honors your Missouri permit.

Where can you not carry a concealed weapon?

In Missouri it is not a criminal offense to carry a weapon in most of the places listed below if you have a valid CCW permit.  But, you must leave the premises if you are asked to.  If you do not leave the premises when asked you can be cited for trespassing or incur fines. You can also leave your weapon in your vehicle in the parking areas of the places listed below. Here is a list of places you are not supposed to carry in Missouri:

  • Law enforcement offices
  • Within 25 feet of a polling place on election day
  • Correctional facilities
  • Courthouses
  • State and local government meetings (Exception is made for members of the governing body)
  • Establishments that serve alcohol (You are allowed to carry in a restaurant that has seating for at least 50 people and derives at least 51% of its income from the sale of food)
  • Secure area of airports
  • Federal government buildings
  • Schools including universities
  • Child care facilities
  • Riverboat gambling operations
  • Gated areas of amusement parks
  • Churches (Concealed carry is allowed with permission of the minister or the person in control of the place of worship)
  • Private property where signs are posted
  • Sports stadium with 5,000 or more seats
  • Hospitals
  • Public buses (Carrying on a public bus is a criminal offense)
  • Cannot carry while intoxicated

Featured Instructors

Here is a short list of Missouri CCW classes:

CPL Classes in Michigan

Requirements to qualify for a license

In Michigan you must be 21 years of age to obtain a concealed pistol license.  You must be a U.S. citizen or a legal immigrant alien.  You must also be a resident of Michigan for at least 6 months.  This 6 month residency requirement may be waived for CCW holders of other states who have recently moved to Michigan.

A firearm safety course is required and you can read more about those requirements below.

You cannot have been convicted of a felony or certain misdemeanors.  Most of the disqualifying misdemeanors are related to gun violations, violence, sexual crimes, drug and alcohol abuse, and fraud related crimes.  A complete list can be found at the Michigan State Police website.

You cannot be under a personal protection court order or an order involving mental or legal incapacitation.  Nor can you have a diagnosed mental illness when you apply for a CPL.

As of 2000 Michigan is a “shall issue” state.  This means that if you meet all the qualifications of the law, the county gun board must issue a license to you.  Before this change in the law the county gun boards had more discretion in who they issued a permit to.  A person had to show a need for a concealed pistol license.

CPL Classes in Michigan

Enter your zip code here to find CPL classes near you.

search provided by Store Locator Plus®
Enter an address or zip code and click the find locations button.

What will you learn in class?

CPL Classes in Michigan are required to be at least 8 hours long.  They must be certified by Michigan or a national or state firearms training organization.  The classroom training portion must be at least 5 hours and will cover the following topics:

  • The safe storage and handling of a pistol including protecting children from accessing a weapon.
  • Selecting the proper ammunition
  • The fundamentals of pistol shooting
  • Shooting positions
  • Avoiding and controlling a violent attack
  • Laws relating to concealed carry including the use of deadly force and civil liability issues (i.e. "What happens after you shoot")

The remaining 3 hours of training will be conducted on the shooting range.  You will need to bring a minimum of 30 rounds of ammunition to the class.  Your instructor may want you to bring more than this.

At the completion of the class your instructor will give you a certificate of completion.  By law this certificate should have the wording, "This course complies with section 5j of 1927 PA 372".  Your certificate of completion never expires but don't wait too long to apply.  The knowledge gained from this course will eventually fade from your mind so you should continue your education by reading current books on concealed carry laws and tactics.

How long does it take to get a license?

You must file your application with the county clerk in your county of residence.  The application should include your certificate of completion and a passport quality photo.  You will also need to be fingerprinted at your local sheriff's office.  Your fingerprints will be forwarded to the Michigan State Police to be processed.  The county gun board will issue or deny your license within 45 days of receiving the fingerprint comparison reportcpl classes

How much does the license cost?

You must pay $105 to the county clerk when submitting your application.  There may be an additional $15 for fingerprinting at your local sheriff's office.

Reciprocity with other states

Michigan CPL's are recognized in many other states.  Check out this map before traveling to other states.
9mm ammo

Note:  Always call the attorney general's office of other states where you plan to travel to confirm that reciprocity laws have not changed.  Also remember that deadly force laws vary by state.  Understand the laws of the states you are traveling in.

Where can you not carry a concealed weapon?

One interesting fact about Michigan is that you are allowed to carry a concealed weapon in a state park with a valid license.  Check the list below for areas where you are not allowed to carry in Michigan.

  • Schools (A parent or legal guardian may carry in their vehicle while dropping off or picking up a student)
  • Day care centers
  • Sports arena or stadium
  • A business whose primary source of income is sales of alcohol to be consumed on the premises.
  • Churches or places of worship (Unless concealed weapons are allowed by the church)
  • An entertainment facility with a seating capacity of 2,500 or more
  • Hospitals
  • Dormitory and classrooms of colleges and universities
  • Casinos
  • Courts (unless approved by a judge)

Another interesting fact about Michigan is that you are allowed to carry on the parking areas of these prohibited places.  This is a very sensible move by Michigan's legislature and makes life easier for CPL holders.

In addition to the above "pistol free areas" you should also follow federal laws.  You can not carry into federal government buildings, meeting places, or places where federal government employees are present.

Featured Instructors

If you would like to take a Michigan CPL class check out this short list of great instructors:

CHL Classes in Texas

Requirements to obtain a Texas Concealed Handgun License (CHL)

To get your Texas CHL you must be 21 years of age or be an active member or former member of the armed forces.  You must have a clean criminal record.  Any felony will disqualify you from getting a license as well as all class A and B misdemeanors.  For example, a DWI is at least a class B misdemeanor in Texas and you will not be able to apply for a CHL for 5 years after a DWI conviction.

You cannot be chemically dependent or of unsound mind.  Chemically dependent is defined as having two convictions within the last ten years relating to alcohol or a controlled substance with a grade of class B misdemeanor or higher.  Someone is considered of unsound mind if they have been diagnosed by a licensed physician with a psychiatric disorder, or declared by a court to be incompetent to manage one’s own affairs.

You cannot be under a protective order or be delinquent in paying state or city taxes, governmental fees, or child support.  The concealed carry act was designed to encourage people to pay back taxes and child support.  You must also be able to pass a NICS check.  The National Instant Criminal Background Check System is implemented by the FBI and this is something you go through each time you purchase a gun from a dealer.

Finally you must complete an application and a training course.  The application may be completed on the Texas Department of Public Safety website.

CHL Classes in Texas

Enter your zip code here to find chl classes near you.

search provided by Store Locator Plus®
Enter an address or zip code and click the find locations button.

How long does it take to get a Texas CHL

The Texas DPS is required by law to process your license in 60 days or less.  If they run into any additional questions such as prior convictions they may ask you to provide more information.  At this point they will have an additional 180 days to investigate and either issue or deny a license to you.

How much does the license cost

The typical license fees are $140 for a first time licensee and $70 to renew a concealed handgun license.  Certain people will qualify for discounted rates.  Click here to view the rate schedule.

What training do I need to have

Texas requires a training course that is a minimum of 4 hours long and a maximum of 6 hours long.  This was reduced from 10 to 15 hours by a bill passed in September of 2013.  There are four main topics covered in the class.

  1. Use of force
  2. Non-violent dispute resolution
  3. Handgun use
  4. Safe and proper storage of handguns and ammunition

Your instructor will require you to pass a written exam with a 70% score as well as a shooting proficiency test.  To pass the shooting test you must fire up to 50 rounds at distances of 3 yards, 7 yards, and 15 yards.  You will be shooting at a B27 target and will obtain points for hitting within certain rings.

  • 5 points - 8, 9, 10, and X rings
  • 4 points - 7 ring
  • 3 points - on the silhouette but outside the 7 ring

You are allowed 3 tries to pass the shooting test and must have a minimum score of 175 points out of 250.chl classes

Reciprocity with other states

Texas has reciprocity agreements with many other states.  This means that with a Texas CHL you will be allowed to carry a concealed weapon in those states.  Be sure you understand the laws of any state you are carrying in because they can differ from the Texas laws that you learn in your chl classes.  Click here to see a map of Texas' reciprocity agreements.

9mm ammo

Where can I carry

Once you have your Texas CHL you will be allowed to carry in many places.  Here is a list of places you are not allowed to carry a concealed handgun.

  • Governmental buildings and meetings
  • Amusement parks
  • Businesses that derive 51% or more of their revenue from sales of alcohol for on-premises consumption
  • Correctional facilities
  • Hospitals or nursing homes
  • Schools and universities and sporting events sponsored by high schools and universities
  • Professional sporting events
  • Churches or other places of worship

 Featured Instructors

Here is a short list of some great instructors in Texas